For many years, the fishermen who lived on Bailey Island wanted a bridge to connect their island with Orr’s Island. In 1926, a contract was signed for construction of a new bridge. The bridge design presented some unique problems because of the tides in the area. Finally, the designers decided to build a cribstone bridge using granite slabs from nearby quarries, similar in design to a bridge in Scotland. The "cribwork" design leaves space between the stones to allow the tides to pass through. On July 19, 1984, the Bailey Island Bridge was dedicated as a Historic Civil Engineering Landmark. The bridge is also listed on the National Register of Historic Places.